Unite! University Network for Innovation, Technology and Engineering


Unite! is an alliance of universities in seven countries that will establish a new model for a European virtual and physical interuniversity campus. Unite! will connect engineering, science and technology with the challenges of society in co-creation with students, faculty and staff, providing skills for a new generation of European and global citizens. The alliance will transform European higher education through multidisciplinary, multicultural and multilingual education, research and entrepreneurship.

Unite! connects European regions with active ecosystems on entrepreneurship and innovation. Together, the seven partners have 167,000 students and 36,700 graduates per year. They are already cooperating closely on more than 80 EU projects. Unite! builds on three decades of close and dedicated cooperation on different aspects of higher education, research, innovation and social responsibility as shared in the CLUSTER network. Unite! member universities share a common view towards regional embeddedness, technology transfer, engineering and science education, with complementary multidisciplinary approaches.

The following geographical regions in Europe are covered by Unite!:

  • Northern Europe. Two major cities or regions that are strong in entrepreneurship and innovation: KTH Stockholm/Sweden and Aalto in Espoo-Helsinki/Finland.
  • Western Europe. Two partners from the two largest economies and drivers of the European Union: TU Darmstadt in Germany (Hesse, Rhein-Main region) and Grenoble INP-UGA in France (Rhone Alpes).
  • Southern Europe. Three major economic and industrial centres ranging from Portugal to northern Italy: The University of Lisbon in Portugal, the UPC in Spain/Catalonia and the Politecnico di Torino in Italy/Piedmont.

Each partner is coordinating at least one focus area of the Unite! alliance: Support Services - ULisboa; Virtual Campus - Aalto; Teaching and Learning Academy - Aalto; Mobility4All Students - KTH; Mobility4all Staff - Grenoble INP-UGA; PhDs as a learning-research interface - PoliTO; Regional Involvement and Innovation - UPC; Dissemination and Sustainability - UPC. 

Officially, Unite! is represented by the its president. TU president Tanja Brühl was elected president for a period of three years by the Unite! governing platform at the kick-off event in November 2019. 

The Unite! Secretariat, based at TU Darmstadt, is headed by secretary general Andreas Winkler. The Secretariat is responsible for managing the alliance and the pilot project in which concepts for the short and long-term development are being worked on by specialised task forces.

UNITE! bottom logos2.png